Tipperary Hurling Tipperary GAA Premierview

Go to content

Main menu:


Teams- History > Match Reports

ESB All-Ireland Minor Hurling Final

Tipperary 2-18
Galway 2-07:
The second year of ESB's sponsorship the All Ireland Minor Hurling Final saw Tipperary, without a minor crown since 1996, overcome a Galway side going for their third Minor Hurling title in a row. A greater hunger and a second half master class in the basic skills of hurling ensured an eleven point winning margin for the Premier County.

Galway reliance on the wonderful natural hurling skills of full forward and captain Joe Canning who was going for his own third minor medal in a row proved to be their down fall. The expert marshalling of the Portumna teenager by Tipperary's full back Padraig Maher, ensured the Corrib side were well out gunned at the final whistle.

Tipperary corner forward and eventual ESB/RTE man of the match, Patrick Bourke's third minute strike to the back of the Galway net was all that separated the teams at half-time. Tipperary's courageous goalline defence denied Canning from two 21-yard frees just before the interval. However eight Tipperary wides in the first half left the door open for a nail-biting second half.

Bourke who notched up a personal tally of one goal and seven points (five from frees) set the tone with his early free with support from Timmy Dalton and Thomas McGrath. Canning's occasional accuracy from placed balls kept Galway in touch.

Tipperary manager Liam Sheedy's half time team talk is credited with inspiring his team to greater efforts and glory in the second period. Bourke and Tony Dunne claimed additional points, before a five minute blitz which yielded five points for the Premier County as well as a wonderful goal for Timmy Dalton.

Canning still kept Galway hopes alive by supplying substitute Enda Concannon whose poor shot eventually found the net after a deflection. Bourke and Dalton continued to do damage and with Michael Gleeson in support turned the game from a competition to an exhibition.

Canning broke another high ball to give Eoin Forde a second Galway goal but the contest was long over. Tipperary were crowned ESB All Ireland minor Hurling Champions for 2006

TIPPERARY: J Ryan; M Cahill, P Maher, B Maher; E Hogan, T Stapleton, J O'Keeffe; J McLoughney, G Ryan (0-1); S Hennessy (0-2), T McGrath (0-2), N Bergin; P Bourke (1-7, five frees), T Dunne (0-1), T Dalton (1-3). Subs: M Gleeson (0-2) for N Bergin (38 mins), S Callinan for T Dunne (51 mins).

GALWAY: J Skehill; J Ryan, M McMahon, A Moylan; D Burke, K Keane, S Quinn; E Forde (1-0), G Lally; A Harte, M Corcoran, L Tully; S Coen, J Canning (0-5, five frees), G Hennelly (0-2). Subs: E Concannon (1-0) for M Corcoran (28 mins), K Killilea for G Lally (half-time), K Keehan for S Coen (41 mins), G Burke for A Harte (43 mins), N Lynch for G Hennelly (54 mins).

Back to content | Back to main menu